Meet the Executive – Communications Chairs

Introducing… DJIM’s Communications Team, Kristen Stallard and Laura Thorne!

Hi folks, I’m Kristen Stallard, the Internal Communications Chair of DJIM. My role is to promote the journal internally at Dalhousie University. I’ve been fortunate to be a part of the DJIM team since fall 2011. I am currently in the second year of the Master of Public Administration program at Dalhousie University. I also have a Master of Arts in Political Science from the University of Toronto and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from St. Francis Xavier University. I was inspired to join DJIM because it is an academic journal run by students for students. It serves an important role in the Faculty of Management by supporting original student research, often giving students their first opportunity to be published. I’m also proud to support DJIM’s commitment to open access. I’m looking forward to another great year at DJIM and I hope you are a part of it.

Hello Everyone! I’m Laura Thorne and I’m DJIM’s External Communications Chair. I’m a second-year Masters of Library and Information Studies student and have been a part of DJIM since the fall of 2011. I completed my Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology and History at the University of Guelph.  I was originally drawn to DJIM because of my interest in academic publishing and supporting open access. DJIM has been a great way to gain new experiences and work with interesting people. As the External Communications Chair, I’m responsible for working with other student groups within the Faculty and Dalhousie, advertising and marketing the journal and our events, cultivating our online presence (including our blog!), and representing our journal at external events. I also submitted an article to the journal this past year which will be published in Vol. 8, Issue 2 this fall so if anyone has questions about what it’s like to submit an article and go through the review process while also being on the executive, feel free to ask me.

Leave a Reply

